iTunes: "sync" actually means "export"

My iPhone is currently paired with my iMac, and I want it paired with my MacBook. So I go to synchronize it and this is the message iTunes gives me:

“Are you sure you want to sync applications? All existing applications and their data on the iPhone “John Koetsier’s iPhone” will be replaced with applications from this iTunes library.”

Interesting.

To me, synchronization means that two or more applications have a little chat. They find out what each other knows, and update each other to include any data that each individually has, and the most current version of any shared data.

Anything else – such as this iTunes “sync” – is just export and import.

Which means that in this case, iTunes synchronization is at best a white lie, and at worst deceptive.

itunes-sync

 


Want weekly updates? Of course you do …